Month Review

It might be premature to hold a blog review before even a month has passed from the first post. Then again, Premature might as well be the tag line to the blog, and so it seems oddly consonant with what has come before.

What came before?

The way in which this blog is done was inspired by Otium and meditationstuff. Sarah talks about the importance of speculative thinking, Mark puts out posts that are just good enough so that he can build up to the things he cares about. DC Reade points to pitfalls of speculative thinking and I think he is correct. I’ve been denying myself writing for a long time. The process of getting stuff clear enough that I could get to what I actually wanted to get at was dispiriting. So I didn’t.
space  
I wanted to know if writing in this style would stabilise my ideas and allow new ones to flow.
space  
The answer is a resounding yes. I sometimes catch my mind in the process of refactoring previous posts, and reorganising them. I have also had substantially more good speculations. The process of spitting out stuff as soon as it is not-totally-terrible has worked. Cross linking helped to build up thinking.
 space 
The next step is to go back and edit. Refactor the topics, edit the thinking for accuracy (since I went for scope over precision and justification) and then check if I can stabilise them into chunks that I can think from/with/about. (One way of looking at what I’m doing is trying to balance between narrative rationality and traditional rationality. Narrative came first) (Another way is that I have been doing a random walk to break out of local maxima)
space  

Ze Review, proper

I have written roughly 33000 words over 28 blog posts, one post a day, an average of 1200 words per essay. This is roughly half a book according to amazon apparently, so, yey?
 space  
With regards to form  it seems that I took the everything is a remix idea, and the “great artists steal” idea of T.S. Elliot/Picasso/Banksy seriously. There are extensive quotations, commentary, linking, idea representation, and rehashing. This is fine, and I’m happy with it – it annoys me that the first sin in academia is plagiarism instead of triviality.
 space 
And so the blog became a pastiche/collage by necessity – I want to say more then what my patience allows me, and thus it all is rough.
 space  
With regards to content, the blog is surprisingly consistent. It seems that I’m engaging in experimental thinking (by analogy to experimental music or art) in the sense that whatever is put here is not crystallized in movement or patterns yet. Even more surprising, there are consistent motifs through the writing.
space
  • Map making (aliefology, beliefology)
  • Transcending rationality (criticising rationality, heuristic creation)
  • Worldview building (reaching for yellow, lovecraftian monsters)
  • Communication/Discourse (how to)
  • Sense making of my experience (1)

I care about each of these topics, and they are still very much open – I have landed on a field with multiple directions to explore and there is still very much to see. I expect the future essays (after The Great Refactoring) to deal with the same topics. Let’s see. It has been exciting.
space
And speaking about excitement, I want to thank Mark for encouraging me to start and holding my hand throughout. Mark encouraged me to start a twitter account which led to some interesting conversations (The last one with David Chapman. *blushes*). Thank you also to the 14 people that decided to follow my blog.

space  
All in all, a successful 28 days of blogging.


  space  
  space  
  space  
  space  
  space  
  space  
  space  
  space  
  space  
(1)
Is intuition God? -> social aliefology
God and rationality-> social aliefology
S1, S2 and superego -> criticism of rationality
Aliefology and Beliefology -> aliefology and beliefology
Transformative Practices and Isolation -> sense making of my experience, communication
Developmental views and rationality -> criticism of rationality
Origin of variance heuristic -> heuristic generation, map-making
Epistemic Virtues-> communication, epistemology
Definitions matter-> map-making, social beliefology
Imprudent formalisation -> criticism of rationality
You can’t optimise anything, literally -> criticism of rationality
Modelling map aggregation -> map-making, social aliefology
Theories as maps, theories as engines  -> map-making, social aliefology, second-order worldview building
Overanalysing shock-> sense making of my experience
Considerations on heuristics for map-making: your naive reasoning mechanisms suck -> criticism of rationality, heuristic creation, individual aliefology
Angst and Lovecraftian Monsters-> worldview building
Reason eating itself -> criticism of rationality
On why speaking to hedgehogs doesn’t come naturally to me -> communication, sense making of my experience
Why I don’t want to make my models explicit->  sense making of my experience
Leave a Reply

